GCE Advanced Level

The General Certificate of Education Advanced Level (GCE Advanced Level), commonly known as the A Level, is a school leaving qualification by educational bodies in the United Kingdom and the British Crown dependencies for students who are about to complete their secondary or pre-university education. Countries such as Kenya, Singapore, Zimbabwe and Mauritius have formed similar qualifications with the same name and format as the A Levels.

The course is two years long, covers four modules and is divided into two parts- the Advanced Subsidiary Level (or AS Level) and the A2 Level.

A Level qualification will be achieved by those who finish both AS and A2 Level. Otherwise the AS Level is a qualification on its own.

Students usually need to take up minimum four papers at the AS Level and can drop the fourth subject for the A2 Level. However, some choose to continue with the fourth paper in their second year of study.

Students are free to choose from amongst a wide variety of subjects

  • Accounting
  • Art and Design
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Computing
  • Creative Writing
  • Critical Thinking
  • Economics
  • Electronics
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Environmental Studies/Technology
  • French
  • General Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • History of Art (and Design)
  • ICT
  • Latin
  • Law
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Statistics


A-levels are internationally recognised qualifications that are accepted by universities and employers around the world . Students typically study the A-levels between the ages of 17 and 18.

A-levels can help you:
  • get a place at college or university at home or abroad
  • start the career you want
  • explore the subjects you love.

Wisdom Academy’s A LEVEL classes in Mumbai and A LEVEL trained home tutors in Mumbai are preparing students successfully for various subjects of AS and A level.

Wisdom Academy provides home/group tuitions for AS and A Level courses